What about your eyes: an optometrist perspective

This week I went to the optometrist for my eye checkup. So far I am the only one in my family who does not have/need glasses!! I am known as the family champion when it comes to eyes. I want to do everything I can to keep my 20/20 vision. However, I asked my optometrist if I would ever need to get glasses and his response made me think…think about technology and this class.

His response was that these days technology is making it more and more that people need glasses and is putting a strain on people’s eyes. When he started his career he never thought he would be making special glasses for people to wear as they stared into 3 computer monitors for their jobs. He never imagined that people would be spending hours in front of a television screen or constantly on their phones. These days people have their tv on while they are also on their phone and possibly some other device. Technology has made it so that our eyes are constantly being exposed to screen time. My eyes get sore from being on my computer so much for school. My optometrists advice was to follow the 20-20-20 rule do work for 20 min and then look at a far object (20 feet away) for 20 seconds. He said that there are no studies yet as to how much screen time or use of technology is detrimental to your eyes, but he did say to try to not spend as much time with technology. Here is an article of other tips to help your eyes.

Remember to Blink

Remember to Blink

Take Breaks

Take Breaks

Reduce lighting

Reduce lighting

I also was talking to him about the impact technology has made on our eyes. We no longer can stand something being blurry. We live in a society that promotes everything in high definition. The idea of good vision is slowly changing. More and more people are getting glasses because the smallest change  in eye site may make something blurry and people can’t stand that.

Just something to think about! Try to protect your eyes!

One thought on “What about your eyes: an optometrist perspective

  1. bannermn says:

    Very interesting that they now make glasses to be used specifically during screen time. I believe that screen time is harmful to eyes too, but there are so many people that shut that idea down. Glad to know what the professionals think!

    Like

Leave a Reply

