Let’s talk about Collaboration

Hello all,
If you have not had the opportunity to be part of a #saskedchat I highly recommend it! This week we talked about collaboration. Here is the google doc that has the five questions that were asked during the twitter chat.
Before I begin talking about the discussion I will give some background on my experience with collaboration based on both a student and teacher perspective.

A student perspective: NOT another GROUP project!! I hope I get to pick my group so that the work can be evenly distributed. My experience with collaboration based on a student’s perspective was not as positive as it could have been. In the last couple years of university I have been able to work with some fantastic groups which have helped me see the benefits of working together. I think why I was not a fan of group projects was it tended to be me doing a majority of the work, as I wanted a really good mark. I wanted the project to be well done so I would edit everything or things that I thought were important to include were left for me to complete. I must say that my group for the ECMP 355 group project was STELLAR! I feel like we collaboratively worked well together and put in the same amount of effort.

A teacher perspective: COLLABORATION IS AMAZING!! I can see the many benefits of collaboration. I team-taught 46 students in my internship and being in that experience opened my eyes to the world of collaboration. I believe that collaboration can strengthen the school community. It also provides educators a support system and bring out each others strengths.  I tweeted about my team-teaching in Saskedchat!

Screen Shot 2015-03-07 at 8.15.32 PM

I appreciate that there is a storify created for the chat, as it allows me to be able to go back and read the conversations. During the chat it is sometimes hard to keep up reading everyone’s tweets. I also want to add that I feel supported in what I have to say and the other teachers are great at commenting and favouriting what I contribute. It is a very welcoming space!

1. What does collaborative planning mean to you?

Screen Shot 2015-03-07 at 8.40.04 PM

2. Why is working in collaborative groups important for teachers?

Screen Shot 2015-03-07 at 8.40.30 PM

3. What skills are necessary to work collaboratively with other?

Screen Shot 2015-03-07 at 8.40.41 PM

4. What is the difference between collegial and collaborative?

I didn’t really have an answer for question 4. At first I did not know what was meant by collegial. During this question, I read what others had to say and realized what was meant. Collegial is more of a smile or good morning (acknowledgment) in the hallway. Where as Collaboration is working together and sharing ideas.

5. How can a staff develop collaborative habits?

Screen Shot 2015-03-07 at 8.40.53 PM

My answer to the last question is what I see #saskedchat as! A place for teachers to collaborate and share ideas about all sorts of topics. I am so glad I was introduced to saskedchat. I am able to build my PLN, as I was able to connect with other educators and now am following them. I also was added to the Saskatchewan list!! I like going on to the chat and reading other people’s perspectives on the questions. It opens my eyes to new possibilities. There was discussion as to why people won’t collaborate and I see it as such a sad thing that some educators want to keep to themselves. I like to share ideas and I think it’s important to show our students how essential cooperative and collaborative learning is. Too many times I hear children say ‘he/she is copying me’. I tell them that if someone is copying you it is a positive thing because it means they like your idea!

I also recommend taking a look at this edu blog about using Twitter to build your PLN! AND Alec Couros makes an appearance in the video part! He keeps popping up everywhere on the internet!

6 thoughts on “Let’s talk about Collaboration

  1. kgorhamblog says:

    This is a phenomenal post. I like how you work through what collaboration means to you. As a future SST, I believe that collaborating is vital. In fact, without collaboration I don’t really have a job to do. During my internship as an SST I got to collaborate with many teachers and I think it made our assessment and teaching practices more effective. I loved getting to watch multiple teachers teach. This allowed for personal growth and a variety of perspectives. I will admit that, like you, I sometimes get that “oh no, another group project” feeling as a university student. But I try to remind myself that even the bad experiences allow me to grow. For instance, maybe I didn’t communicate well or should have delegated more or listened to their needs, etc. There is always something to be learned from collaboration, even if the experience is mostly negative. I don’t think teaching is a job where we close our doors and hide what we are doing. I see it as a job where we share for the kids. If I’m doing something great or I need advice, there is nothing better than collaborating with colleagues. In the end, it is the kids who win and that’s what this profession is all about! Thanks for exploring this topic and making me reflect about my own views about collaboration!

    Like

    • breannehack says:

      Thanks for your feedback! I agree that collaboration is vital! We definitely can grow and learn from negative experiences with collaboration too! If my team teacher and I had not been able to collaborate I can see where the students would suffer, but we worked well together and the students were able to succeed and thrive in the classroom.

      Like

  2. Ferrah Graham says:

    Breanne, I can see that you are beginning your career in such a positive way. Your commitment to collaborative cultures will be a great gift to your schools. Excellent post and glad to have you as a member of the #saskedchat crew.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Amy Lawson says:

    Fabulous post, Breanne! We’re so fortunate to have you join #saskedchat. I love the connection made between the “copying” idea. When we work together, we can create such meaningful things for students. There’s no reason to keep our doors closed and NOT be teammates. Having new teachers come into this profession advocating for this is exactly what we need to keep our momentum going and ensure that all schools become collaborative!

    That sounds like an incredible internship experience! Team-teaching – when the people, supports and space involved are the right “fit” – can be such a powerful thing.

    Like

    • breannehack says:

      Thanks for your feedback! I am glad that collaboration was the topic for #saskedchat. It helped me reflect on my experiences and the power of collaboration. I definitely agree with you that we should all be teammates!

      Like

Leave a Reply

