Digital Citizenship: “Never let a 140 character tweet cost you a $140 000 Scholarship”

     digital citizenship

                                      Photo Credit: http://www.lindisfarne.school.nz/WebSpace/2043/

This week in class, we discussed digital citizenship. Digital Citizenship is more than just a teaching tool; it is a way to prepare students/technology users for a society engulfed by technology. Digital citizenship is appropriate and responsible technology use. Children at a young age begin their digital identity and It is important that your identity online is positive and how you want to be perceived. I know I am very careful about what I post and I, honestly, did not post much before enrolling in #eccmp355. It is essential that as a future educator I teach students about digital citizenship while at the same time model it myself.

When I started my internship and met my advisor teacher, one of the first things she told me was that she ‘googled’ and ‘facebooked’ me to see what would show up. She told me that she was impressed with what she saw/lack there of. I decided to google myself and this is a screen shot of what comes up:

Screen Shot 2015-02-10 at 12.54.35 PM

It might be a little hard to see, but what is there is my facebook account, twitter, University of Calgary contact, and my pinterest. At the beginning of September there would have only been my facebook account and University of Calgary contact from when I worked there. Overall, they are all positive things linked to my name. I think a part of me has been worried about what I post online and therefore, I just don’t post anything. This class is making me step out of this mindset of being scared by making me blog and publish things to the wide open internet. AAHHH!!! I am constantly aware of what I am writing and posting on this blog, twitter, and Facebook.

I came across this article that is applicable to digital citizenship. In the article a student athlete was being recruited to a college basketball team; however, the only thing stopping him was a negative digital identity. As an assistant coach said “never let a 140 character tweet cost you a $140 000 scholarship”. The student athlete had vulgar language and partying photos, which resulted in him not being asked to join the team. Many team members have been found complaining about playing time and trash-talking other team members over twitter. Many professionals and coaches look through individuals social media presence to get an idea of who they are. An important aspect to always remember is that while individuals may think they can delete a facebook post or tweet, it can last forever. The content can be captured in many ways by users.

Think before you post!

One thought on “Digital Citizenship: “Never let a 140 character tweet cost you a $140 000 Scholarship”

  1. herback says:

    I agree with what you say here – we have to read and reread everything that we post/send to make sure everything will be interpreted as we mean it to be. Its out there forever, so make sure you won’t regret it in a few years! Great post!

    Like

Leave a Reply

