#saskedchat

Last week I decided to join a #saskedchat to learn from other educators. I found this experience to be inspiring. When I was told to get twitter for my class I was not that excited. When twitter first became popular I really had no desire to make an account. However, after taking part in #saskedchat I can see the benefits of twitter.

The chat allowed teachers from all over the world, not just Saskatchewan to talk about and share ideas on blogging. I tweeted about my experience with blogs and from that one tweet was connecting to many people who were favouriting and commenting on my tweet.

Screen Shot 2015-03-01 at 11.24.17 PM

I felt an immense sense of support and encouragement from others involved in the chat. It was neat to hear what other people had to say about blogging, especially since I am new to blogging. One aspect I found interesting from the chat was discussing reasons for blogging in classrooms. Many individuals commented on this question stating the importance of students learning digital citizenship and the student’s excitement to have their writing exposed to a bigger audience.

I would highly recommend other ECMP 355 and 455 students and other educators to join in a #saskedchat. They talk about different topics every Thursday night! It is awesome to be able to connect and learn from others. I am looking forward to taking part in more #saskedchats!

Screen Shot 2015-02-01 at 12.22.47 PM

One thought on “#saskedchat

  1. Amy Lawson says:

    Hi, Breanne! It was great to have you join #saskedchat – it’s exciting to see so many pre-service and new teachers joining in and getting connected that way. One of the things I found most challenging about my first few years of teaching was just developing my professional support and learning networks. Chats like this one are one way to help build those relationships. I hope that we’ll see you at one again soon! Thanks for the blog. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

