A Feedly Experience

For ECMP 355 I was asked to pick a few blogs to follow off of a website called Feedly and comment on why I chose them. To begin with, I went about my search by looking up #teaching #education and #technology. To my surprise there was lots of blogs that came up!

I, personally, do not like to sign up for lots of online websites. Let’s just say before this class my digital identity consisted of Facebook and I recently got Pinterest. The reason I decided to get Pinterest was to get ideas for Internship. This class has pushed me to expand and get twitter, a google account, create a blog, and now Feedly. I kind of feel overwhelmed with all of these tools, but I keep reminding myself the reason I enrolled in this class was to broaden my horizons when it comes to technology.

Feedly seems to be easy to use and has many educational and interesting articles to fit everyone’s needs. There is one blog that I have saved to my Feedly page that I would like to share.

Here is a snapshot of my feedly page:

Screen Shot 2015-01-26 at 3.18.51 PM

There is one blog that I have saved to my Feedly page that I would like to share.

Teachthought! It has articles, videos, curriculum, ideas for apps, and articles/videos on social media. The blog is easy to navigate through due to the format used. It provides resources and professional growth for teachers. One article that specifically caught my eye on the blog was ‘Are you a whole Teacher? A Self-Assessment to Understand’. There is a complete list of questions for teachers to assess their teaching, which I think directly relates to the Education program at the University of Regina’s as a major component is self-reflection.

A significant part I took from the article on the blog was this quote “Whole child teaching is a thing;whole teaching should be a thing too, no?”. I really thought that this was a powerful insight. Teachers also need to be holistic teachers that can teach to all students.The article provides 12 characteristics of holistic teachers with 30 questions to assess your own teaching.

Screen Shot 2015-01-26 at 7.04.22 PM

The 12 Characteristics

I believe the teachthought blog is full of educational resources and articles that can benefit teachers. I especially feel the article on a whole teacher is helpful for all teachers as it is important to self-assess and expand yourself as a teacher. I know I am going to take the self-assessment after my blog goes up!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

